Posted in Novels, writing

A New Direction

If you have been following this blog you realize that my postings have fallen off dramatically as of late.  As you know, I use this blog at times to vent about the various political machinations and manipulations that irk me, opining on the various steps and (lately) missteps of my beloved Portland Trailblazers as well as addressing heartfelt issues of a spiritual or meditative nature. 

For the past several weeks, though, my passion for these topics has all but evaporated for a variety of reasons.  I think that a feeling of inevitability drives me to abandon political discourse.  The two sides have become so distant and locked into ideological loggerheads that there seems no hope for common sense in the governance of the country until it all falls apart and we must live once again in the real world, coming up with real solutions that rely on resources that are actually available. 

The trailblazers seem to still be stuck in a management style which dictates that they can’t get out of their own way and thus will continue to tease us with glimpses into a bright future that’s been dangled in front of us for twenty-two years while telling us that we have a “results oriented” owner.  Who needs those kind of results year after year?  I haven’t abandoned the team, I just refuse to get my hopes up, or to believe anything until I see it. 

I’m still walking in the woods and thinking, growing, learning, living, believing.  It’s just been more of an internal process lately.  Relationships and family have been the subject of a lot of my introspection recently and I do have passion for that realm of my life, but until I find a way to make it relevant and interesting to you I will continue my internal inventory and focus here upon other things.

Which brings me to the one revelation which has renewed a passion within me.  I am  finally going to finish writing the novel that I began more than twenty-five years ago, and I will be sharing my progress and some of my scenes and chapters here along with the thoughts and rants that are bound to return at some time to the forefront of my consciousness. 

I hope that you will enjoy the new direction of this blog.  Now more than ever I encourage feedback and comment.  You can help me do a better job of writing my novel.  Tell me what you like or dislike, what is clear and what is confusing, what flows and what hits a wall.  Help me get through this story.  I have others I need to write, but I’ve been spinning my wheels on this one for too long.

My plan is to write profusely and this blog will be pretty active in the future.  Got to go and write, see you later.

© Ron Buedefeldt  July, 2010

3 thoughts on “A New Direction

  1. time to get back to you… I hope you do write your novel… twenty five years is long enough for it to sit on the back burner if it’s something you always wanted to do. Keep us posted. =)

  2. I say “FEED ME!” (” . . .the one revelation which has renewed a passion within me. I am finally going to finish writing the novel that I began more than twenty-five years ago, and I will be sharing my progress and some of my scenes and chapters here)

Leave a Reply

